No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade

Can't delete synchronous remote repllication pair on secondary stoarge in 5500V3 after manually split the pair

Publication Date:  2016-10-12 Views:  48 Downloads:  0
Issue Description

Faulty symptom: The customer split remote replication pair and delete the remote replication pair on primary storage. But when he try to delete the pair on secondary storage, he always get below alert:


And the remote replication pair status on secondary storage is below:


Version information: V300R003C10

Alarm Information
Null
Handling Process

1, Check the remote replication pair status on both storage. The pair is successfully deleted on primary storage, and is faulty on secondary storage.

2, Check the event log on both storage. The customer split the consistency group first, remove the pair from consistency group, then delete the pair on primary storage. The operation procedure is normal.

3, Try to delete the remote replication pair again. check the error description "The secondary LUN is rolling back".

4, We checked the event log again and found the customer splited the consistency group when the synchronization not finished. So, we need to wait until the rollback task finished or manually stop the rollback task.



Root Cause

1, For asynchronous remote replication, when the synchronization cycle start, the system will activate snapshot for the LUNs on primary and secondary side.

2, If the synchronization failed or interrupted, the secondary side should rollback to the data before synchronization through the snapshot. Only this way, can we ensure the data consistency.


Solution

1, If the customer don't need to use the data on secondary LUN, we can login CLI command line and stop the rollback task in developer mode.

Command example:

admin:/>change user_mode current_mode user_mode=developer

developer:/>change remote_replication rollback_status_stop remote_replication_id=0
DANGER: You are about to stop rolling back remote replication task. This operation will stop rolling back data on the secondary LUN, and the data may become unavailable. If the rollback is cancelled, it cannot be initiated again.
Suggestion: Before performing this operation, ensure that you have selected the correct remote replication task.
Have you read danger alert message carefully?(y/n)y

Are you sure you really want to perform the operation?(y/n)y

2, if the customer do need the data on secondary LUN, he need to wait until the rollback task finish.

END