No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade

Configurations Were Lost After NE40E&NE80E Restarted with Configurations Due to Absence of Space Before #

Publication Date:  2013-10-08 Views:  23 Downloads:  0
Issue Description

A modified configuration file was uploaded to an NE40E. After the NE40E was restarted with configurations, all BGP address family configurations were lost.

The problem was not related to the software version.
Handling Process

Huawei performed the following operations to address the problem:

1. Identified the first configuration that failed to be restored by checking logs. The logs showed that ipv4-family unicast failed to be configured under the system view. Therefore, it was concluded that BGP configurations from ipv4-family unicast were configured under the system view and failed to be executed.

2. Analyzed why these configurations failed to be executed under the system view. The ipv4-family unicast command means to enter the BGP IPv4 unicast family address view, and the previous command peer 5.5.5.5 connect-interface LoopBack0 was executed under the BGP view to specify a peer. Between the two commands existed the symbol #.

bgp 100
 peer 5.5.5.5 as-number 100
 peer 5.5.5.5 connect-interface LoopBack0
#
 ipv4-family unicast
  undo synchronization
  undo peer 5.5.5.5 enable

When an NE starts with configurations, the symbol # without any space before it means to return to the system view. However, the ipv4-family unicast command is not executed under the system, and therefore space must exist before #. 
Root Cause
Space was absent before # in the configuration file. Therefore, configurations were executed under the incorrect view and lost.
Solution
None
Suggestions
Do not delete space before # if the command does not need to be executed under the system view.
It is recommended that you do not upload a manually modified configuration files in an upgrade if possible. If a configuration file must be manually modified, ensure that the modified file is correct.

END