No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search


To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.


S6700 Series Switches Hardware Description

This document provides an overall description of the S6700 hardware, helping you obtain detailed information about each chassis, power module, fan module, cable, and optical module.

Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Types of Optical Modules

Types of Optical Modules

Optical modules are available in various types to meet diversified requirements.

  • Classified by transmission rates

    Depending on transmission rates, optical modules are classified into 100GE, 40GE, 10GE, FE, and GE optical modules.

  • Classified by encapsulation types

    The higher transmission rate an optical module provides, the more complex structure it has. Optical modules are encapsulated in different modes to provide different structures. Huawei switches support optical modules of the following encapsulation types: CFP, QSFP+, QSFP28, XFP, SFP, eSFP, and SFP+. All optical modules are hot swappable.

    • SFP: small form-factor pluggable. SFP optical modules support LC fiber connectors.
    • eSFP: enhanced small form-factor pluggable. An eSFP module is an SFP module that supports monitoring of voltage, temperature, bias current, transmit optical power, and receive optical power. Therefore, eSFP is also called SFP sometimes.
    • SFP+: small form-factor pluggable plus, SFP with a higher rate. SFP+ optical modules are more sensitive to electromagnetic interference (EMI) because they have a higher rate. To reduce EMI, SFP+ optical modules have more springs than SFP optical modules and the cages for SFP+ modules on a card are tighter.
    • XFP: 10 Gigabit small form-factor pluggable. X is the Roman numeral 10, meaning that all XFP optical modules provide a 10 Gbit/s transmission rate. XFP optical modules support LC fiber connectors. They are wider and longer than SFP+ optical modules.
    • QSFP+: quad small form-factor pluggable. QSFP+ optical modules support MPO fiber connectors and are larger than SFP+ optical modules.
    • CFP: centum form-factor pluggable. The dimensions of a CFP optical module are 144.75 mm x 82 mm x 13.6 mm (L x W x H). CFP is a new optical module standard that can be used in data communication and telecommunications fields.
    • QSFP28: with the same interface size as a QSFP+ module. A QSFP28 interface can use a 100GE QSFP28 optical module or a 40GE QSFP+ optical module.
  • Classified by physical layer standards

    Different physical layer standards are defined to allow data transmission in different modes. Therefore, different types of optical modules are produced to comply with these standards. For details, see Standards compliance of the specific optical module.

  • Classified by modes

    Optical fibers are classified into single-mode and multimode fibers. Therefore, optical modules are also classified into single-mode and multimode modules to support different optical fibers.

    • Single-mode optical modules are used with single-mode fibers. Single-mode fibers support a wide band and large transmission capacity, and are used for long-distance transmission.

    • Multimode optical modules are used with multimode fibers. Multimode fibers have lower transmission performance than single-mode fibers because of modal dispersion, but their costs are also lower. They are used for small-capacity, short-distance transmission.

Wavelength division multiplexing modules differ from other optical modules in center wavelengths. A common optical module has a center wavelength of 850 nm, 1310 nm, or 1550 nm, whereas a wavelength division multiplexing module transmits lights with different center wavelengths. Wavelength division multiplexing modules are classified into two types: coarse wavelength division multiplexing (CWDM) and dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM). Within the same band, DWDM modules are available in more types and use wavelength resources more efficiently than CWDM modules. DWDM and CWDM modules allow lights with different center wavelengths to be transmitted on one fiber without interfering each other. Therefore, a passive multiplexer can be used to combine the lights into one channel, which is then split into multiple channels by a demultiplexer on the remote end. This reduces the optical fibers required. DWDM and CWDM modules are used for long-distance transmission.

The transmit power of a long-distance optical module is often larger than its overload power. Therefore, when using such optical modules, select optical fibers of an appropriate length to ensure that the actual receive power is smaller than the overload power. If the optical fibers connected to a long-distance optical module are too short, use an optical attenuator to reduce the receive power on the remote optical module. Otherwise, the remote optical module may be burnt. Generally, an optical attenuator is required if an optical module supporting a transmission distance longer than 10 km is used together with short optical fibers.

Updated: 2019-11-30

Document ID: EDOC1000013621

Views: 195688

Downloads: 3745

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products

Related Version

Related Documents

Previous Next