No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade

OceanStor 9000 V300R006C00 Object Storage Service (Compatible with OpenStack Swift APIs) Administrator Guide 07

Rate and give feedback :
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Deleting a Node

Deleting a Node

You can delete a node from a cluster using Toolkit or command-line interface (CLI) commands.

Prerequisites

  • Management nodes of the object storage service cannot be deleted.
  • Before deleting a node, ensure that at least four functioning nodes exist in the node pool; otherwise, system reliability deteriorates.
  • You can delete only one node at a time to ensure data security.
  • Ensure that data balancing policy is enabled. For details, see Enabling Data Balancing. If data balancing policy is disabled, a node will fail to be deleted.

Precautions

  • If the available capacity of the system is smaller than capacity used by the node that you want to delete, do not delete the node. Alternatively, delete the node after implementing capacity expansion.
  • Do not delete any node during system expansion.
  • To enable the node that you want to add to use the front-end IP addresses of the node that you want to delete, enter the name of the network port but do not enter front-end IP addresses in the capacity expansion configuration file. After deleting the corresponding node, assign front-end IP addresses for the newly-added node.
  • To ensure data security, at least four nodes must exist in the node pool; otherwise, a node will fail to be deleted. A deletion failure message will also be displayed if the deletion causes stored data to be less reliable. Avoid extended offline period of a faulty node. Rectify the fault or replace the node's system disk or the node as soon as possible.
  • Deleting a node triggers background data migration and consequently affects the system service performance. The data migration speed is up to 1 TB/h.
  • The deleted node can join the cluster again only in the expansion mode. Therefore, do not delete any node unless necessary.
  • The node in the disable state cannot be deleted offline and can only be deleted online.

Procedure

  • Deleting a node using Toolkit.
    1. Log in to Toolkit as the super administrator.
    2. Click Node Deletion.
    3. In the Node Deletion window that is displayed, find the row containing the node that you want to delete based on the node serial number. In the row, click Delete.
    4. Carefully read the content of the Danger dialog box that is displayed. Then select I have read and understood the consequences associated with performing this operation for confirmation. Click OK.
    5. On the dialog box that is displayed, click OK to delete the node.

      If the node is offline, the system deletes it directly. After that, data reconstruction is completed in the background. If the node is online, the system migrates the data from the node to other nodes in the background before deleting the node. Estimate the time required for the deletion based on the to-be-migrated data amount. In Task Management in the lower right corner on DeviceManager, view the Progress of the deletion task. If the progress is 100%, the node has been deleted.

      If a node fails to be deleted, delete it again. If it still cannot be deleted, contact Huawei technical support for help to avoid adverse impact on the system.

  • Log in to CLI and run delete node command to delete a node.

Follow-up Procedure

If there are alarms related to the deleted node, it is recommended that you clear them manually.

Translation
Download
Updated: 2019-04-28

Document ID: EDOC1000122524

Views: 11196

Downloads: 86

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products
Related Documents
Related Version
Share
Previous Next