No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search


To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.


Huawei SAN Storage Host Connectivity Guide for Windows

HUAWEI SAN Storage Host Connectivity Guide for Windows Servers
Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
File Systems in Windows

File Systems in Windows

Windows Server (Windows for short) offers a variety of file systems. For a comparison, see Table 2-1.

  • FAT

    File Application Table (FAT) is a file system developed for MS-DOS. This file system is simple in design and applicable to all Windows operating systems of later versions. However, a major drawback of FAT is that after a file is deleted, new data is written onto the file location in chunks, which lowers data read/write speeds.

  • FAT32

    FAT32 is similar to FAT but applies to larger disk applications. FAT supports only 4 GB partitions or volumes whereas FAT32 supports up to 2 TB.

  • NTFS

    New Technology File System (NTFS) is a standard file system that applies to Windows NT, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008, Windows Vista, and Windows 7. NTFS takes the place of FAT as the file system for Microsoft Windows operating systems. NTFS optimizes FAT and High Performance File System (HPFS). For example, NTFS supports metadata and uses advanced data structure, which improves performance, reliability, and disk space utilization. NTFS also provides extended functions such as the access control list (ACL) and file system logs.

  • exFAT

    Extended File Allocation Table File System (exFAT) is a Microsoft file system optimized for flash drives (NFTS cannot be used to manage flash drives). exFAT applies to Windows Embedded 5.0 and later (including Windows CE 5.0, Windows CE 6.0, Windows Mobile 5, Windows Mobile 6, and Windows Mobile 6.1). This file system supports 4 GB or larger files that are not supported by FAT32.

  • ReFS

    Resilient File System (ReFS) is a new file system introduced with Windows Server 2012. ReFS improves system availability and fault tolerance capabilities in the big data era. When interworking with Space Storage, ReFS provides a comprehensive, end-to-end, and flexible storage architecture.

Table 2-1 Comparison of FAST32, NTFS, exFAT, and ReFS






Operating system

Versions later than Windows 95 OSR2

Versions later than Windows 2000

Windows CE 6/Vista SP1

Versions later than Windows 2012

Min. sector size

512 B

512 B

512 B

64 KB

Max. sector size

64 KB

64 KB

64 KB

64 KB

Max. file size

2 B to 4 GB

Depends on the max. partition capacity.

16 EB

16 EB

Max. formatted capacity

2 TB (NT kernel: 32 GB)

2 TB to 256 TB (depending on the MBR)

16 EB (theoretical value, 256 TB in current environments)

256 ZB when using 16 KB clusters. Windows stack addressing: 16 EB

Number of archives



Greater than 1000


Updated: 2019-08-22

Document ID: EDOC1000150159

Views: 76200

Downloads: 3464

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products
Related Documents
Related Version
Previous Next