No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search


To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.


CLI-based Configuration Guide - QoS

AR100-S, AR110-S, AR120-S, AR150-S, AR160-S, AR200-S, AR1200-S, AR2200-S, and AR3200-S V200R009

Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Understanding HQoS

Understanding HQoS

The traditional Quality of Service (QoS) technology schedules packets based on interfaces. An interface, however, can identify priorities of different services but cannot identify services of different users. Packets of the same priority are placed into the same queue on an interface, and compete for the same queue resource. Therefore, the traditional QoS technology is unable to provide differentiated services based on traffic types and users.

Currently, more and more enterprises construct their own intranets by leasing dedicated lines from carriers. Enterprises may focus on different services and need differentiated QoS. Enterprises are required to provide different scheduling policies and QoS guarantee based on enterprises' services. Traditional QoS technology cannot provide differentiated services because it cannot identify users.

As users increase continuously and services develop, users require differentiated services so that better QoS is provided at less cost. Hierarchical Quality of Service (HQoS) implements hierarchical scheduling based on queues and differentiates services and users. It provides QoS guarantee and saves network operation and maintenance costs.

Queues Supported by HQoS

As shown in Figure 6-1, the device supports three levels of queues, that is, level-3 flow queue (FQ), level-2 subscriber queue (SQ), and level-1 port queue. The HQoS hierarchy is a tree structure. A flow queue is taken as a leaf and a port queue is taken as the root. When packets pass through an interface configured with HQoS, the packets are classified so that they traverse the branches of the tree. Packets arrive at the top of the tree and are classified on one of the leaves. Packets then traverse down the tree until they are transmitted out the interface at the root.

Figure 6-1  HQoS scheduling

  • Flow queue

    The same type of services of a user is taken as a service flow. HQoS schedules queues based on service flows. A flow queue including EF, AF, and BE queues corresponds to a service type. You can configure scheduling modes for flow queues.

  • Subscriber queue

    All services of a user are taken as a subscriber queue. HQoS allows all services in the subscriber queue to share bandwidth.

  • Port queue

    Each port corresponds to a queue and port queues are scheduled in RR mode. You can only configure interface-based traffic shaping, and cannot configure scheduling modes.

HQoS Scheduler

HQoS implements hierarchical scheduling and provides good service support.

The device provides three levels of schedulers, that is, flow queue scheduler, subscriber queue scheduler, and port queue scheduler. The flow queue scheduler and subscriber queue scheduler support PQ scheduling, WFQ scheduling, and PQ+WFQ scheduling. The port queue scheduler uses RR scheduling.

HQoS deployment for enterprise users is used as an example. Enterprise users have VoIP services, video conference (VC) services, and data services. Each subscriber queue corresponds to one enterprise user and each flow queue corresponds to a type of services. By deploying HQoS, the device implements the following functions:
  • Controlling traffic scheduling among the three types of services of a single enterprise user
  • Controlling total bandwidth of the three types of services of a single enterprise user
  • Controlling bandwidth allocation between multiple enterprise users
  • Controlling total bandwidth of multiple enterprise users

HQoS Shaper

HQoS shapers buffer packets and limit the packet rate. The device supports three levels of shapers, that is, flow queue shaper, subscriber queue shaper, and port queue shaper. After packets enter the device, the device buffers the packets in queues and sends the packets at the limited rate. Shapers can ensure the CIR and limit the rate of packets by using the rate limit algorithm.

HQoS Dropper

Droppers discard packets based on the drop method before packets enter queues. The device supports different drop methods for the three types of queues:
  • Port queue: tail drop

  • Subscriber queue: tail drop

  • Flow queue: tail drop and WRED

Updated: 2019-12-27

Document ID: EDOC1000174115

Views: 45182

Downloads: 34

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products

Related Version

Related Documents

Previous Next