No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search


To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.


Configuration Guide - MPLS

S7700 and S9700 V200R011C10

This document describes MPLS configurations supported by the switch, including the principle and configuration procedures of static LSPs, MPLS LDP, MPLS TE, MPLS QoS, MPLS OAM, Seamless MPLS, and MPLS common features, and provides configuration examples.

Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Creating a Tunnel Protection Group

Creating a Tunnel Protection Group


A configured protection tunnel can be bound to a working tunnel to form a tunnel protection group. If the working tunnel fails, traffic switches to the protection tunnel, improving tunnel reliability.

When creating a tunnel protocol group, you can set the switchback delay and a switchback mode. The switchback modes are classified into revertive and non-revertive modes. You can set the switchback delay only when the revertive mode is used.


You can also perform the following steps to modify a tunnel protection group.

Perform the following configurations on the ingress node of the primary MPLS TE tunnel.


  1. Run system-view

    The system view is displayed.

  2. Run interface tunnel interface-number

    The tunnel interface view of the primary tunnel is displayed.

  3. Run mpls te protection tunnel tunnel-id [ holdoff holdoff-time ] [ mode { non-revertive | revertive [ wtr wtr-time ] } ]

    The working tunnel is added to the protection group.

    The following parameters can be configured in this step:

    • tunnel-id specifies the tunnel ID of a protection tunnel.

    • The holdoff time specifies the time between the declaration of signal failure and the initialization of protection switching. The holdoff time ranges from 0 to 100. The default hold-off time is 0 milliseconds. holdoff-time specifies a multiplier of 100 milliseconds.

      Holdoff-time = 100 milliseconds x holdoff-time

    • non-revertive mode means that traffic does not switch back to a working tunnel even though a working tunnel recovers.

    • revertive mode means that traffic can switch back to a working tunnel after the working tunnel recovers.

      By default, the tunnel protection group works in revertive mode.

    • Wait to restore (WTR) time is the time elapses before traffic switching is performed. The WTR time ranges from 0 to 30 minutes. The default WTR time is 12 minutes. The wtr-time parameter specifies a multiplier of 30 seconds.

      WTR time = 30 seconds x wtr-time

    If the number of working tunnels in the same tunnel protection group is N, perform Step 2 and Step 3 on each interface with a specific interface-number.

  4. Run mpls te commit

    The current configuration of the tunnel protection group is committed.

Updated: 2019-10-18

Document ID: EDOC1000178315

Views: 130250

Downloads: 91

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products

Related Version

Related Documents

Previous Next