No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade

FusionAccess Desktop Solution V100R006C20 Windows Desktop Management Guide 09 (FusionSphere V100R006C10 or Earlier)

Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Recomposing System Disks

Recomposing System Disks

Scenarios

Restore VM systems in a linked clone or full memory VM group after new software is installed on the VM template, which does not affect the data disks of the VM.

  • For a linked clone template, all the VMs in the selected linked clone VM group are updated; for a full memory template, all the VMs created by using this template are updated.
  • Templates with new software can be classified as follows:
    • A totally new linked clone or full memory VM template with software installed. For details about how to create the template, see Creating VM Templates.
    • Install new software on an existing full copy template that has been used to create VMs. For details, see Updating a VM Template (Type 1).
    • An existing linked clone or full memory VM template with new software installed. For details about how to create the template, see Updating a VM Template (Type 2).
  • After the system disk is recomposed, only data stored on data disks of linked clone or full memory VMs will be remained. Data on the system disk such as that on the desktop and in Favorites will be lost. If you want to keep such data, inform the users of backing up it in advance. For full copy VMs, the original system disk can be retained and repurposed as a data disk.
  • Before updating a VM, you need to use the updated template to provision a VM to test the template. After the VM is successfully provisioned, you can use it for VM update.

Impact on the System

This operation has no adverse impact on the system.

Prerequisites

  • You have logged in to the FusionAccess portal. For details, see Logging In to FusionAccess.
  • You can open the Desktop page using the browser.
  • A VM group is created, and new software has been installed on the template used to create the VMs in the VM group.
  • VMs exist in desktop groups.

Data

Data preparation is not required for this operation.

Procedure

Select the mode to recompose system disks.

  1. Select the mode to recompose the system disks of full copy, linked clone, or full memory VMs.

    • To recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using the same template), full memory VM group, or linked clone VM group, go to Step 2.
    • To recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using different templates), go to Step 9.
    • To recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using the same template), go to Step 19.

Recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using the same template), full memory VM group, or linked clone VM group.

  1. On the FusionAccess portal, choose Desktop > VM Group.

    The page for managing VM groups is displayed.

  2. Search for the VM group to be updated by specifying search criteria.
  3. Select the linked clone, full memory, or full copy VM group to be updated and click Recompose System Disk.
  4. Set the update policy and notification message as prompted on the Set Update Policy page.

    • If the VMs in the VM group are in use or have important data to save later, select Next startup (Not now).
    • If the VMs in the VM group are not in use or have no important data to save, select Immediately (Forced update).
      NOTE:

      During the update, not only the selected full memory VMs in a VM group are updated, but also all the full memory VMs created by using the template are updated.

  5. Click OK.
  6. On the displayed Recompose System Disk page, select the updated VM template and click Finish.

    The Warning dialog box is displayed.

  7. Click Confirm.

    You can view task status in Task > Task Tracing. The task is executed successfully when its status changes to Success.

Recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using different templates).

  1. On the FusionAccess portal, choose Desktop > All Computers > VM.
  2. Click Advanced Search.
  3. Enter the required Template ID and click Query.
  4. Select the VM created using the required template.
  5. Click Advanced Function.
  6. In the drop-down list, select Restore System Disk.
  7. Set the update policy and notification message as prompted on the Set Update Policy page.

    • If the VMs in the VM group are in use or have important data to save later, select Next startup (Not now).
    • If the VMs in the VM group are not in use or have no important data to save, select Immediately (Forced update).

  8. Click OK.
  9. On the displayed Recompose System Disk page, select the updated VM template and click Finish.

    The Warning dialog box is displayed.

  10. Click Confirm.

    You can view task status in Task > Task Tracing. The task is executed successfully when its status changes to Success.

Recompose the system disks of a full copy VM group (VMs in the group are created using the same template).

  1. On the FusionAccess portal, choose Desktop > Desktop Group.

    The page for managing desktop groups is displayed.

  2. Search for the desktop group to be updated by specifying search criteria.
  3. Select the full copy desktop group to be updated and click Recompose System Disk.
  4. Set the update policy and notification message as prompted on the Set Update Policy page.

    • If the VMs in the desktop group are in use or have important data to save later, select Next startup (Not now).
    • If the VMs in the desktop group are not in use or have no important data to save, select Immediately (Forced update).

  5. Click OK.
  6. On the displayed Recompose System Disk page, select the updated VM template and click Finish.

    The Warning dialog box is displayed.

  7. Click Confirm.

    You can view task status in Task > Task Tracing. The task is executed successfully when its status changes to Success.

Translation
Download
Updated: 2019-04-25

Document ID: EDOC1000182394

Views: 20598

Downloads: 57

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products
Related Version
Related Documents
Share
Previous Next