No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search


To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.


CLI-based Configuration Guide - Basic Configuration

AR500, AR510, AR531, AR550, AR1500, and AR2500 V200R010

This document provides the basic concepts, configuration procedures, and configuration examples in different application scenarios of the Basic configuration supported by the device.
Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Setting Command Levels

Setting Command Levels

The system divides commands into four levels and sets the command level in the specified view. The device administrator can change the command level as required, so that a lower-level user can use some high-level commands. The device administrator can also change the command level to a larger value to improve device security.


  • The system grants users different access permissions based on their roles. User levels are classified into sixteen levels, which correspond to the command levels. Users can use only the commands at the same or lower level than their own levels. By default, there are four command levels 0 to 3 and sixteen user levels 0 to 15. Table 1-1 describes the relationship between command levels and user levels.

    Table 1-1  Relationship between command levels and user levels

    User Level

    Command Level





    Visit level

    Commands of this level include network diagnosis tool commands (such as ping and tracert), commands for accessing external devices from the local device (such as Telnet) and some display commands.


    0, 1

    Monitoring level

    Commands of this level are used for system maintenance, including display commands.


    Some display commands are not at this level. For example, the display current-configuration and display saved-configuration commands are at level 3. For details about command levels, see the Huawei AR Series IOT Gateway Command Reference.


    0, 1, 2

    Configuration level

    Commands of this level are used for service configuration to provide direct network services, including routing commands and commands of each network layer.

    3 to 15

    0, 1, 2, 3

    Management level

    Commands of this level are used for basic system operations, including file system, FTP, TFTP download, user management, command level configuration, and debugging.

Changing the default command level without the guidance of technical personnel is not recommended. This may result in inconvenience for operation and maintenance and bring about security problems.


  1. Run system-view

    The system view is displayed.

  2. (Optional) Run display command-view command-key

    The view of a specified command is displayed.

    You can perform this step to check the view of the command whose level needs to be changed.

  3. Run command-privilege level level view view-name command-key

    The command level is set in the specified view.

Updated: 2019-05-20

Document ID: EDOC1100034225

Views: 44986

Downloads: 100

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products
Related Documents
Related Version
Previous Next