No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade

Restoring S Series Switches to Factory Defaults

Rate and give feedback:
Huawei uses machine translation combined with human proofreading to translate this document to different languages in order to help you better understand the content of this document. Note: Even the most advanced machine translation cannot match the quality of professional translators. Huawei shall not bear any responsibility for translation accuracy and it is recommended that you refer to the English document (a link for which has been provided).
Restoring S Series Switches to Factory Defaults

Restoring S Series Switches to Factory Defaults

Introduction

Usually, in some scenarios, users need to restore the switch to its original factory configuration state, for example, to delete a large number of particularly complicated useless configurations, or to transfer a switch from one network to another, you can reset the switch directly to the factory configuration state and configure it as a new switch. This document provides two ways to reset the switch.
  • Restoring the Factory Configuration of the Configuration File Using the PNP Button.
  • Run the reset factory-configuration command to restore the factory configuration.

Prerequisites

  • This document uses Huawei S5700 series switch products as an example to introduce the operation of restoring the factory configuration. There may be differences in the implementation of different products and versions. Please refer to the specific version of the product documentation.
  • The information in this document was created from the devices in a specific lab environment. All of the devices used in this document started with a cleared (default) configuration. If your network is live, make sure that you understand the potential impact of any command.

Before You Begin

Before restoring the factory configuration of the device, you are advised to connect to the switch through the console port or Telnet to complete one of the following tasks.

  • Back up your configuration on a FTP/SFTP server.

  • Copy your configuration to a local text file.

    NOTE:
    • Once you clear the user configuration, there is no way to recover the configuration unless you restore the backed-up configuration.
    • If you reset the switch to factory defaults while you access the switch by Telnet connection, you lose connectivity to the switch.
    • If you reset the switch to factory defaults while you access the switch by Console connection, the password will be restored to the initial password when you log in to the switch through the console port again.

Restoring the Factory Configuration of the Configuration File Using the PNP Button

If you press and hold the PNP button for more than 6s, the device restores the default settings and restarts automatically.

NOTE:
  • Only the devices that support PNP keys support this operation.
  • This operation will enable the function of logging in through the console port.
  • This operation clears the service configuration and data files, which is the same as the function of the reset factory-configuration command.
  • This operation will not delete the protected directory and protected/$_default.cfg file.
  • If the protected/$_default.cfg file exists, this operation will set the $_default.cfg file as the configuration file for next startup. If the file does not exist, the configuration file for next startup is empty.

Restoring the Switch to Factory Default in One-Click Mode

If you want to clear all service configurations and data files, run the following command to restore the switch to factory default in one-click mode.

  1. In the user view, run reset factory-configuration.

    The switch is reset and restored to factory default.

    This command restores the factory configuration of the system configuration file and clears all service configurations and data files of a switch. Exercise caution when running this command.

    This command will delete the automatically saved vlan.dat file.

  2. In the user view, run display factory-configuration reset-result.

    The result of the latest factory default restoration of the switch is displayed.

Translation
Download
Updated: 2019-06-29

Document ID: EDOC1100088109

Views: 595

Downloads: 26

Average rating:
This Document Applies to these Products
Related Documents
Related Version
Share
Previous Next