No relevant resource is found in the selected language.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our privacy policy>Search

Reminder

To have a better experience, please upgrade your IE browser.

upgrade
Knowledge Base

FAQ-How to delete or move the volumes which have been used in NetBackup

Publication Date:  2012-10-16  |   Views:  240  |   Downloads:  0  |   Author:  SU1000864011  |   Document ID:  EKB1000017231

Contents

Issue Description

When we think some tapes of some volume in NetBackup is useless and want to move them to other volume as backup, NetBackup forbids to move them and alarms they have been defined.

Alarm Information

none

Handling Process

1. Make sure the data in the tapes is useless.
2. Run bpexpdate �d 0 �m media_id command, which make the tapes overdue by force.
3. Now you can delete or move them.

Root Cause

There are working image in the tapes, in NetBackup, if there are working image in a tape, it cannot be deleted or moved.

Suggestions

1. When you make a strategy, do your best to make it perfect.
2. When you have to modify the strategy, make sure the tape is overdue.